Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #9

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Sunday, October 25, 2015

Fire Falling Release Tour Review

Hello everyone! Today I am fortunate enough to share my review for the release tour of Fire Falling; book 2 in the brilliant Air Awakens series. Make sure to scroll down and see some final thoughts and comments on Fire Falling from Elise Kova herself. Also check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post!
**Thank you to the author for providing me with a review copy in exchange for an honest review**

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Affintiy Tour: Burn Baby Burn (Firebearer)

Hello everyone! As you may have seen in my first information post about the Affinity Tour HERE, We, the Goodreads Fan Club for Air Awakens have decided to have a fun little activity take place while we await the release of Fire Falling; the stunning sequel to Air Awakens. 

Monday, October 19, 2015

Blog Tour Review Post: Touching Fate by Brenda Drake

Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for Touching Fate blog tour hosted by YA Bound Book Tours. I will be doing a honest review. I was provided with a ebook copy from the publisher, however that does not affect my views on this book. Also don't forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Affinity Tour: Which one are you?

Hello readers! I wanted to share the new Air Awakens fan club idea that was thought up by the MODs over on Goodreads ( @booksandladders, @dani_reviews, @irisjeXx). It's a little something that you can post on your social media/blog/anywhere that you can post stuff and spread the work about Air Awakens. So, we brainstormed and came up with the idea for you guys to choose which Affinity you are and to create a post around.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

LL &A's Monthly Book Tag

Welcome back to Alexis from I'M MAD FOR BOOKS, LUV and mine monthly book tag.

Every month we thought it would be fun to come up with a theme and to go along with that chosen theme, a tag. However it wouldn't be just your average tag, the questions would relate to books which in the end will also relate back to our theme for that month. So I guess you could call it a book tag.
To see the officially launch page click here 

We welcome anyone to join. If you do participate, we ask that you notify one of us via My Twitter or Alexis's Twitter, or by commenting on either of our posts with the link to how you did this book tag. In doing so it allows us to add the link to your book tag to that months book tag post on our blogs. We also ask that you somehow link back to us as well.
 This Months theme is:

Monday, October 12, 2015

Top Ten Tuesdays #9

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. 

Where every Tuesday is a different bookish topic and us bloggers choose the top ten.


Topic for this week is: Top Ten Author Duos You'd LOVE to see write a book together

Book Blitz: The Summer Marked by Rebekah L. Purdy

Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for The Summer Marked book blitz hosted by Expresso Book Tours. Don't forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post

About the Book
Title: The Summer Marked {The Winter People#2}
Author: Rebekah L. Purdy
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Published: September 22nd, 2015 by Entangled: Teen
Description from GR: "The sequel to the chilling Winter People returns to the world of Faerie, and is a romantic and enchanting follow-up.
Salome left humankind behind to be with her boyfriend, Gareth, in the Kingdom of Summer. But now forces of darkness are rising. Her happily-ever-after is coming apart, and the Kingdom is on the brink of war.
Newly-single Kadie Byers is on her way home for Thanksgiving, imagining a visit filled with hot chocolate, a hot guy for a little rebound action, and some girl time with her bestie, Salome. Except she receives a message from Salome with two important words: PLEASE HURRY.
When Kadie rushes to help Salome, she’s ripped from the human world and pulled into the kingdoms of Faerie, where she’s shocked to learn that Salome’s monsters are real, and that she’s now at the mercy of one extremely vengeful Winter Queen…
Now both Salome and Kadie must find a way to survive the deadly chaos…or lose themselves to Winter’s deadly, icy grasp."

Excerpts from both POV of the two characters:
A sigh escaped my lips when I watched daylight sneak through the door at the back of the room. Somehow, I’d survived the night. My body ached as I attempted to stretch my legs out, my arms still tied to the post.

Every part of me was numb from the cold, but I was alive. As more light fractured the shadows, my gaze fell to the blood-slickened floors. It looked as if the floor tiles had bled. I buried my face against my shoulder. I wanted to cry but didn’t dare show my fear. If they realized how badly this place affected me, they’d find other ways to get inside my head or worse, maybe torture me. A shiver scraped along my spine at the thought.

I need to get out of here. I’m going to go crazy.

A lock rattled then the door flung open. Etienne sauntered inside, his white tunic opened like some seventies porn star. He gave me a sad smile.

“Good. You’re awake. The queen would like to see you.” He walked over and untied the ropes that secured me to the bed.

I cried out as my wrists were freed. The skin around them was raw and reddened from my attempts to escape.

“What are you, her bitch?”

“You should just give in now, otherwise the Winter Queen will only make things worse.”

“Trust me, I’m gonna keep fighting until I get out of this hell hole.”

 Bubbles and foam rose from the river floor as if there was an eruption below. Water sprayed my left cheek. A gurgled snort sounded beside us as a great black horse rose from the depths, river-weed tangled in its mane. This was no ordinary horse. It was a Kelpie. It turned to face me, eyes blazing like hot coals. The beast’s lips peeled back to reveal blood covered teeth. Crap. If I could reach the saddlebags, then maybe I could pull out the sword Gareth had gotten for me. I leaned to the side, reaching for the buckles. Moving at this pace and bouncing around, I couldn’t get hold of it.

Come on.

Adaba jerked to the side in an attempt to get to the shore. But it was too late. In one swift movement, the Kelpie latched onto my arm.

“No!” Pain shot through me like a bullet. I fought to stay in the saddle. My horse kicked out his hind legs, catching the Kelpie in the side. Still the creature wouldn’t release me.
Instead, it tugged harder ripping me halfway off my saddle. My knees tightened around Adaba’s sides, my fingers loosened as water slickened what grip I had. The Kelpie’s teeth sunk deeper into my arm. My hands slipped; my hold lost. Horror washed over me when I plunged into the dark, icy depths of the river. The coldness stung my skin. The creature dragged me deeper, and I kicked my legs, thrashing to free myself from it. Above me, all I saw were the distorted images of the sky as it faded from sight.

Purchase Links:

About the Author

Rebekah was born and raised in Michigan where she spent many late nights armed with a good book and a flashlight. She’s lived in Michigan most of her life other than the few years she spent in the U.S. Army. At which time she got a chance to experience Missouri, Kansas, South Carolina, and California. Rebekah has a business degree from University of Phoenix and currently works full time for the court system. In her free time she writes YA stories, anything from YA Fantasy to YA Contemporary Romance. Rebekah also has a big family (6 kids) she likes to consider her family as the modern day Brady Bunch complete with crazy road trips and game nights. When not hiding at her computer, Rebekah enjoys reading, singing, soccer, swimming, football, camping, playing video games, traveling, and hanging out with her family and gazillion pets.

Get in touch with the author on:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #8

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Blog Tour Review Post: It's a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt

Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for It's a Wonderful Death blog tour hosted by YA Bound Book Tours. I will be doing a honest review. I was also provided with a ebook copy from the publisher, however that does not affect my views on this book. Also don't forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post.

Monday, October 5, 2015

Wednesday's Child {Bruised #2} by: Justin Holley

About the Book:

Wednesday's Child {Bruised #2}
Author: Justin Holley
Synopsis: "In the second book in the Bruised series, Tracey Peralta and Jason Hylden are back, ten years older and wiser. Well, older anyway.

Still living within the clutches of the blood oath from her youth, Tracey now helps the cops investigate strange homicides—those involving the supernatural. So, when a psychology student, who calls herself Wednesday, spouts gibberish about a devil in the church stealing her unborn baby, Tracey knows her brand of help might be needed. The next day, the student is found butchered inside a pentagram, insides missing, and Tracey must determine if the murder is garden-variety or if the town’s demonic forces have returned.

When a second psychology student, who calls herself Thursday, disappears and is feared dead, Tracey calls on the only person left alive who shares her traumatic past. Soon, Tracey and Jason become collateral targets of a flesh-and-blood killer with an aptitude for making deals with the dead. Now they have to solve the ritualistic murders or Tracey and Jason might just become the next sacrifice."

**I received a copy of this book provided by the author, however this does not change my opinion or view of this book**

Thursday, October 1, 2015

October's Author of the Month & Interview

Hello everyone! It's another new month and with that comes a new Author of the Month. This will consist of a post that includes an interview with the chosen author, along with featuring them in my sidebar for that entire month.  New feature I started on my blog in September (Refer HERE if you would like to see the original post & if you would like to be apart of this as an author).

October's author is Amanda Sun