Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Unbound {The Griever's Mark #3} by Katherine Hurley ~ Cover Reveal


Hello everyone! Today I am super excited and one of the very lucky people who gets to partake in Katherine Hurley's cover reveal for Unbound the third and final book in The Griever's Mark trilogy.

My love for her books has grown stronger and stronger every time I was lucky enough to read her books. She is a brilliant fantasy writer who sets the world of her books perfectly. I have reviewed the first two previous  books in The Griever's Mark Trilogy; The Griever's Mark (book 1) & Chains of Water and Stone (book 2)

Now without further ado, the stunning cover for Unbound is here....

Thursday, December 24, 2015

LL & A's Monthly Book Tag ~December


Welcome back to Alexis from I'M MAD FOR BOOKS, LUV and mine monthly book tag.

Every month we thought it would be fun to come up with a theme and to go along with that chosen theme, a tag. However it wouldn't be just your average tag, the questions would relate to books which in the end will also relate back to our theme for that month. So I guess you could call it a book tag.
To see the officially launch page click here 

We welcome anyone to join. If you do participate, we ask that you notify one of us via My Twitter or Alexis's Twitter, or by commenting on either of our posts with the link to how you did this book tag. In doing so it allows us to add the link to your book tag to that months book tag post on our blogs. We also ask that you somehow link back to us as well.
..................................................... 
 This Months theme is:
End of the Year

Thursday, December 10, 2015

December TBR


It's another new month, and with that comes a whole new set reading list in which I have planned for myself. I feel like December came around a little faster than I would've liked, but hey, new books for me to read and get my hands on. I know that I am a little late but hey, better late than never.

My T.B.R. for December has around Twelve books on it, so it should be an interesting month, and hopefully I can get to all the books.

The books are:

Sunday, December 6, 2015

December Author of the Month & Spotlight


Hello everyone! It's another new month and with that comes a new Author of the Month. This will consist of a post that includes an interview with the chosen author, along with featuring them in my sidebar for that entire month.  New feature I started on my blog in September (Refer HERE if you would like to see the original post & if you would like to be apart of this as an author).

December's author is Bethany Crandell

Saturday, December 5, 2015

Guest Post: Badass Book Besties


Hello Everyone! Today the lovely Booknut will be joining us yet again for another awesome guest post.
BookNut is the blogger over at 21st Century Once Upon a Times. Her blog consists of all kinds of delightful book related topics, as well as her amazing YA & NA book reviews are featured there. 

I hope you all enjoy her post on Badass Book Besties. If you like what you read, make sure to check out more of her book discussions and reviews over on her blog. 



Books are filled with characters that you wish were real. We’ve all come across characters we’d love to hang out with, tell our problems to, laugh with…or work with to hatch a plan to save the world! Some book characters just seem like they’d make the most amazing best friends, if only they were real.
So with that in mind, I’m going to be picking my top three Badass Book Besties – three characters that I would love to have as a part of my friend squad any day.

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Release Day for Fire Falling


Well today marks down the day that Fire Falling was officially released and is celebrating it's first books birthday. So everyone from now on will remember November 19th as being the day they cleaned out the tissue aisle in NEED of tons of tissues, because trust me, THIS book will have you emotional for weeks. That's not a bad thing though. Fire Falling brings a lot of new elements as well as development for not only the characters but the story as well. I hope everyone who loved Air Awakens will pick this book up, I also hope that people who have yet to read this series, also enjoys this book.

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Top Ten Tuesdays #10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. 

Where every Tuesday is a different bookish topic and us bloggers choose the top ten.

 

Topic for this week is: Top Ten Quotes I loved from Books I read in the past year

Saturday, November 14, 2015

Earth's End by Elise Kova~ Cover Reveal

Can you believe it? It feels like just yesterday that I was partaking in the cover reveal for Fire Falling. It's crazy how fast time flies. There's a story to be told behind each and every single cover in this series. I am nervous and so very excited to see what Earth's End will have in store for us and I think that's why it makes it one of my favorite covers.

Make sure to check out the giveaway at the end of this post, as well as the exclusive Q&A session with the awesome artist who designed the beautifully brilliant covers.

Without further ado I am glad to present you all with the glorious cover. 

Thursday, November 12, 2015

LL & A's Monthly Book Tag

Welcome back to Alexis from I'M MAD FOR BOOKS, LUV and mine monthly book tag.

Every month we thought it would be fun to come up with a theme and to go along with that chosen theme, a tag. However it wouldn't be just your average tag, the questions would relate to books which in the end will also relate back to our theme for that month. So I guess you could call it a book tag.
To see the officially launch page click here 

We welcome anyone to join. If you do participate, we ask that you notify one of us via My Twitter or Alexis's Twitter, or by commenting on either of our posts with the link to how you did this book tag. In doing so it allows us to add the link to your book tag to that months book tag post on our blogs. We also ask that you somehow link back to us as well.
..................................................... 
 This Months theme is:
Thanksgiving

Thursday Quotables {2}

Thursday Quotables is a weekly meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies
It's all about sharing a quote, passage, or line from a book that your have read recently or are reading currently. The quote can be anything because it's obviously worthy, if you feel like it's worth mentioning.

This week's quote(s) is coming from: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Strong Female Leads~ Guest Post by BookNut


Hello everyone! Since becoming a blogger I have had the opportunity of meeting some amazing book fans as well as equally amazing bloggers. BookNut is just a prime example of that. 

I was lucky enough to have met her through the Splintered fandom and so she was my friend before I became a blogger. BookNut is incredibly kind as well as a very talented book blogger. So I thought it would be lovely to have her as my first guest on my blog. 

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Blog Tour Guest Post: Splintered Souls

Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for Splintered Souls blog tour hosted by Sage's Blog Tours.  Joining ius today will be the author herself, Erica Lucke Dean.

Sunday, November 1, 2015

November Author of the Month & Interview


Hello everyone! It's another new month and with that comes a new Author of the Month. This will consist of a post that includes an interview with the chosen author, along with featuring them in my sidebar for that entire month.  New feature I started on my blog in September (Refer HERE if you would like to see the original post & if you would like to be apart of this as an author).

November's author is Elise Kova

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #9

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.


This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Sunday, October 25, 2015

Fire Falling Release Tour Review


Hello everyone! Today I am fortunate enough to share my review for the release tour of Fire Falling; book 2 in the brilliant Air Awakens series. Make sure to scroll down and see some final thoughts and comments on Fire Falling from Elise Kova herself. Also check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post!
**Thank you to the author for providing me with a review copy in exchange for an honest review**

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Affintiy Tour: Burn Baby Burn (Firebearer)

Hello everyone! As you may have seen in my first information post about the Affinity Tour HERE, We, the Goodreads Fan Club for Air Awakens have decided to have a fun little activity take place while we await the release of Fire Falling; the stunning sequel to Air Awakens. 

Monday, October 19, 2015

Blog Tour Review Post: Touching Fate by Brenda Drake


Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for Touching Fate blog tour hosted by YA Bound Book Tours. I will be doing a honest review. I was provided with a ebook copy from the publisher, however that does not affect my views on this book. Also don't forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Affinity Tour: Which one are you?


Hello readers! I wanted to share the new Air Awakens fan club idea that was thought up by the MODs over on Goodreads ( @booksandladders, @dani_reviews, @irisjeXx). It's a little something that you can post on your social media/blog/anywhere that you can post stuff and spread the work about Air Awakens. So, we brainstormed and came up with the idea for you guys to choose which Affinity you are and to create a post around.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

LL &A's Monthly Book Tag


Welcome back to Alexis from I'M MAD FOR BOOKS, LUV and mine monthly book tag.

Every month we thought it would be fun to come up with a theme and to go along with that chosen theme, a tag. However it wouldn't be just your average tag, the questions would relate to books which in the end will also relate back to our theme for that month. So I guess you could call it a book tag.
To see the officially launch page click here 

We welcome anyone to join. If you do participate, we ask that you notify one of us via My Twitter or Alexis's Twitter, or by commenting on either of our posts with the link to how you did this book tag. In doing so it allows us to add the link to your book tag to that months book tag post on our blogs. We also ask that you somehow link back to us as well.
..................................................... 
 This Months theme is:
Halloween 

Monday, October 12, 2015

Top Ten Tuesdays #9


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. 

Where every Tuesday is a different bookish topic and us bloggers choose the top ten.

 

Topic for this week is: Top Ten Author Duos You'd LOVE to see write a book together

Book Blitz: The Summer Marked by Rebekah L. Purdy


Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for The Summer Marked book blitz hosted by Expresso Book Tours. Don't forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post

About the Book
Title: The Summer Marked {The Winter People#2}
Author: Rebekah L. Purdy
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Published: September 22nd, 2015 by Entangled: Teen
Description from GR: "The sequel to the chilling Winter People returns to the world of Faerie, and is a romantic and enchanting follow-up.
Salome left humankind behind to be with her boyfriend, Gareth, in the Kingdom of Summer. But now forces of darkness are rising. Her happily-ever-after is coming apart, and the Kingdom is on the brink of war.
Newly-single Kadie Byers is on her way home for Thanksgiving, imagining a visit filled with hot chocolate, a hot guy for a little rebound action, and some girl time with her bestie, Salome. Except she receives a message from Salome with two important words: PLEASE HURRY.
When Kadie rushes to help Salome, she’s ripped from the human world and pulled into the kingdoms of Faerie, where she’s shocked to learn that Salome’s monsters are real, and that she’s now at the mercy of one extremely vengeful Winter Queen…
Now both Salome and Kadie must find a way to survive the deadly chaos…or lose themselves to Winter’s deadly, icy grasp."

Excerpts from both POV of the two characters:
EXCERPT 1 KADIE:  
A sigh escaped my lips when I watched daylight sneak through the door at the back of the room. Somehow, I’d survived the night. My body ached as I attempted to stretch my legs out, my arms still tied to the post.

Every part of me was numb from the cold, but I was alive. As more light fractured the shadows, my gaze fell to the blood-slickened floors. It looked as if the floor tiles had bled. I buried my face against my shoulder. I wanted to cry but didn’t dare show my fear. If they realized how badly this place affected me, they’d find other ways to get inside my head or worse, maybe torture me. A shiver scraped along my spine at the thought.

I need to get out of here. I’m going to go crazy.

A lock rattled then the door flung open. Etienne sauntered inside, his white tunic opened like some seventies porn star. He gave me a sad smile.

“Good. You’re awake. The queen would like to see you.” He walked over and untied the ropes that secured me to the bed.

I cried out as my wrists were freed. The skin around them was raw and reddened from my attempts to escape.

“What are you, her bitch?”

“You should just give in now, otherwise the Winter Queen will only make things worse.”

“Trust me, I’m gonna keep fighting until I get out of this hell hole.”


EXCERPT 2 SALOME:
 Bubbles and foam rose from the river floor as if there was an eruption below. Water sprayed my left cheek. A gurgled snort sounded beside us as a great black horse rose from the depths, river-weed tangled in its mane. This was no ordinary horse. It was a Kelpie. It turned to face me, eyes blazing like hot coals. The beast’s lips peeled back to reveal blood covered teeth. Crap. If I could reach the saddlebags, then maybe I could pull out the sword Gareth had gotten for me. I leaned to the side, reaching for the buckles. Moving at this pace and bouncing around, I couldn’t get hold of it.

Come on.

Adaba jerked to the side in an attempt to get to the shore. But it was too late. In one swift movement, the Kelpie latched onto my arm.

“No!” Pain shot through me like a bullet. I fought to stay in the saddle. My horse kicked out his hind legs, catching the Kelpie in the side. Still the creature wouldn’t release me.
Instead, it tugged harder ripping me halfway off my saddle. My knees tightened around Adaba’s sides, my fingers loosened as water slickened what grip I had. The Kelpie’s teeth sunk deeper into my arm. My hands slipped; my hold lost. Horror washed over me when I plunged into the dark, icy depths of the river. The coldness stung my skin. The creature dragged me deeper, and I kicked my legs, thrashing to free myself from it. Above me, all I saw were the distorted images of the sky as it faded from sight.

Purchase Links:

About the Author

Rebekah was born and raised in Michigan where she spent many late nights armed with a good book and a flashlight. She’s lived in Michigan most of her life other than the few years she spent in the U.S. Army. At which time she got a chance to experience Missouri, Kansas, South Carolina, and California. Rebekah has a business degree from University of Phoenix and currently works full time for the court system. In her free time she writes YA stories, anything from YA Fantasy to YA Contemporary Romance. Rebekah also has a big family (6 kids) she likes to consider her family as the modern day Brady Bunch complete with crazy road trips and game nights. When not hiding at her computer, Rebekah enjoys reading, singing, soccer, swimming, football, camping, playing video games, traveling, and hanging out with her family and gazillion pets.

Get in touch with the author on:

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #8


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
 


This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

 

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Blog Tour Review Post: It's a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt


Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for It's a Wonderful Death blog tour hosted by YA Bound Book Tours. I will be doing a honest review. I was also provided with a ebook copy from the publisher, however that does not affect my views on this book. Also don't forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of this post.

Monday, October 5, 2015

Wednesday's Child {Bruised #2} by: Justin Holley

About the Book:

Title:
Wednesday's Child {Bruised #2}
Author: Justin Holley
Purchase:
  *Amazon
  *B&N
Synopsis: "In the second book in the Bruised series, Tracey Peralta and Jason Hylden are back, ten years older and wiser. Well, older anyway.

Still living within the clutches of the blood oath from her youth, Tracey now helps the cops investigate strange homicides—those involving the supernatural. So, when a psychology student, who calls herself Wednesday, spouts gibberish about a devil in the church stealing her unborn baby, Tracey knows her brand of help might be needed. The next day, the student is found butchered inside a pentagram, insides missing, and Tracey must determine if the murder is garden-variety or if the town’s demonic forces have returned.

When a second psychology student, who calls herself Thursday, disappears and is feared dead, Tracey calls on the only person left alive who shares her traumatic past. Soon, Tracey and Jason become collateral targets of a flesh-and-blood killer with an aptitude for making deals with the dead. Now they have to solve the ritualistic murders or Tracey and Jason might just become the next sacrifice."

**I received a copy of this book provided by the author, however this does not change my opinion or view of this book**


Thursday, October 1, 2015

October's Author of the Month & Interview


Hello everyone! It's another new month and with that comes a new Author of the Month. This will consist of a post that includes an interview with the chosen author, along with featuring them in my sidebar for that entire month.  New feature I started on my blog in September (Refer HERE if you would like to see the original post & if you would like to be apart of this as an author).

--------------------------------------------------
October's author is Amanda Sun

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Blog Tour Review Post: At the Sharp End of Lightning


Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for At the Sharp end of Lighning blog tour hosted by Enchanted Book Promotions. I will be doing a honest review. I was also provided with a ebook copy from the publisher, however that does not affect my views on this book. 

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Question Tag

I was tagged by Linda over at La La in the Library to do the I Mustache You tag. It looked like a lot of fun so I thought I would do it. I believe the only rule is that you must give 4 answers for each question. Thanks again LA LA for including me in this tag.

Saturday, September 26, 2015

Blog Tour Post: The Affiliate by K.A Linde Review



Hello Everyone! Today's special post will be for The Affiliate by K.A. Linde blog tour hosted by InkSlinger PR. I will be doing a honest review. I was also provided with a ebook copy from the publisher, however that does not affect my views on this book. Enjoy and don't forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom. 

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday's #8


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. 

Where every Tuesday is a different bookish topic and us bloggers choose the top ten.

Topic for this week is: Top Ten Books On My Fall TBR

Saturday, September 19, 2015

Guest Post for Time's Alibi made by Husky Harlequin


Hello Everyone! Today I get to be one of the lucky people to host a stop on the Time's Alibi's virtual book tour. Joining us will be the author himself explaining how the cover came to be and how it relates to the story. Also don't miss the giveaway at the bottom of this post

Sunday, August 30, 2015

September's Author of the Month & Interveiw


Hello everyone! I would like to present a new feature that I will be doing every month. Author of the Month, this will consist of a post that includes an interview with the chosen author, along with featuring them in my sidebar for that entire month. 

I already have authors lined up till January 2016. If you are an author that is interested in participating in this you can head over to my Contact page and shoot me an email. 

I hope you guys are excited, because I am very excited to be sharing this. I have already done some interviews with the authors and it's been a lot of fun getting to see their responses and opinions back. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------
September's author is Aaron Galvin.

Air Awakens { Air Awakens, #1} by Elise Kova

About the Book:

Title: Air Awakens
Author: Elise Kova
Published: August 27th 2015 by Silver Wing Press
Length: Kindle Edition, 287 pages
Genre: YA Fantasy
Synopsis: "A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond...
The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.
Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in he
...more"

Air Awakens deserves a 10 out 10 rating and a new top spot on my favourites list.  

Friday, August 28, 2015

Alice in Zombieland {White Rabbit Chronicles, #1} by Gena Showalter

About the Book:

Title: Alice in Zombieland
Author: Gena Showalter
Published: September 25th 2012 by Harlequin Teen
Length: Hardcover, 404 pages
Genre: YA fiction
Synopsis: "She won't rest until she's sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.
Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. But that's all it takes. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.
Her father was right. The monsters are real.
To aveng
...more"


Alice in Zombieland Deserves a 10 out of 10 rating.


Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #6

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
 

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is: 

Monday, August 24, 2015

Fire Falling by Elise Kova ~ Cover Reveal


Well here it finally is folks, the GORGEOUS cover for Fire Falling, the sequel to Air Awakens is finally being shared with us. Along with a giveaway for a signed ARC of Fire Falling (Rafflecopter @ bottom). Both covers have been beautifully crafted by zwxArt

Saturday, August 22, 2015

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

About the Book

Title:  Cruel Beauty
Author: Rosamund Hodge
Published: January 28th 2014 by Balzer + Bray
Length: Hardcover, 342 pages
Genre:YA/Teen Fantasy & Romance
Synopsis: "Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl's journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart.
Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.
Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil rul
...more"
  

Cruel Beauty deserves a 10 out of 10 rating.  


Thursday, August 13, 2015

Wake {Watersong Series #1} by Amanda Hocking

About the Book

Title: Wake 
Author: Amanda Hocking
Published: August 7th 2012 by St. Martin's Press
Length: Hardcover, 309 pages
Genre: YA fiction
Synopsis: "Fall under the spell of Wake—the first book in an achingly beautiful new series by celebrated author Amanda Hocking—and lose yourself to the Watersong.
Gorgeous. Fearless. Dangerous. They're the kind of girls you envy; the kind of girls you want to hate. Strangers in town for the summer, Penn, Lexi and Thea have caught everyone's attention—but it’s Gemma who’s attracted the ...more"

 

Wake deserves a 8 out of 10 rating.  


Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Waiting on Wednesdays #5

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
 
This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman 
Expected publication date: September 1st, 2015

From Good Reads:

"When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate.

In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation."
 

 What book are you wanting right now but can't quite have it yet? 

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Top Ten Tuesdays #6

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. 

Where every Tuesday is a different bookish topic and us bloggers choose the top ten.

 

Topic for this week is: Top Ten Authors I've Read The Most Books From 
 
 In no particular Order

 

  What are some of your favorite authors ?


Sunday, August 9, 2015

Stacking the Shelves #5


Its origin is from Tynga's Reviews

 
Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!
If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!

-----------------------------------------------

This week I received 6 new books to add to my shelf. 1 from NetGalley, 1 ARC, and 4 purchased.